Cover Girl

Cover Girl – an interesting article I was sent about a 9 year old girl choosing to wear the head-scarf; it’s written by her non-Muslim mother.

I know a 9 year old girl who has been wearing the hijab full-time for 2 years, and is currently pestering her parents to let her wear the niqab. Her parents are refusing to allow her until she is much older, even though her own mother is a niqabi.

My own daughter, who is not yet 3, loves playing dressup with both my hijab and niqab. I feel very nervous when I take her out with me and she has a small hijab on, wondering if people think I’m forcing my baby to wear this, when in actual fact I’ve tried to get her to remove it before we leave home.

How sad is that.

2 Comments

  1. Catsmilk said,

    June 11, 2010 at 4:45 am

    How cute! Ofcourse your little one wants to dress like her Mummy! Personally I would much prefer to see a little girl wearing a hijab like her Mum then all the little girls I see wearning mini-skirts and lots of make-up like their Mums! Unfortunatly not everyone would view it this way which is why I think your blog is so very important! Thanks once again for another little look into your life! Cat

  2. starmomi said,

    June 14, 2010 at 4:16 am

    Thanks Cat, and you’re welcome! It’s good to hear from you 🙂


Leave a Reply

