I’m Looking for a Man…

Part of a ‘spoken word’ poem, written by Poetic Pilgrimage, enjoy…

Hi, excuse me, Assalamu alaikum, I wonder if any of you in here can help me?

My name is Sakina Abdul Noor. I’m a pilgrim and

I’ve travelled here from Abyssinian lands with a caravan

And I’m looking for a man

I’ve walked over

Mountains and valleys passed rivers and streams

I’ve walked barefooted through pagan lands

On the back of camels I rode through desert sands

To catch a glimpse of this illuminous man

They say Allah is the light of the heavens and the earth and this man is His lamp

Shining the light of mercy throughout the land

I heard once water flowed forth from his hands

So tell me please where can I find this man

I wanna pledge my allegience with my right hand and

Live my life according to Allah’s command

I’m not sure if you understand

I’m looking for the Prophet Muhammad sallAllahu alaihi wa sallam

Have you seen him?

I travelled lightly

Butterflies, eagles and angels were my companions on this here journey

I had only the moon’s light to guide me

I saw signs manifesting at night as stars were shimmering

Listening to winds whispering

Rising to pray whenever I heard the birds singing

See I’m a pilgrim

And I decided to make this journey one night when I was sleeping

See I was dreaming

And a man appeared, his body was a pure light and he was gleaming

He had a beard and he was dressed in green and he wore a turban

He asked me if I’d heard of him

Each of his words was a gem and then

He told me to come follow him

Forget material belongings

I didn’t know before how much my soul was longing

He said come to the blessed city of Medina and ask for him

So now I’m asking

Where can I find the Prophet Muhammad sallAllahu alaihi wa sallam

Everybody I asked on my journey had heard of him

When I mentioned his name every bird started chirping, I saw

Children’s eyes widen and grown men start crying

Each tear representing the love they have had inside for him

So that’s why I’m trying to find him

I heard throughout the land

Him and his companions can be heard reciting words of light and magnificent imagery

Fitting into the highest literary category

I heard even his enemies were astounded by their sheer beauty

And took their oaths of Shahada, forgetting about war booty

What’s even more amazing to me

Is that these words, as nourishing as an ocean breeze, words that light up the narrow Arabian streets,

Descended from Allah directly

I’m told they have a healing affect

Making many men introspect and fall on their knees begging for mercy

Apparently, they are as nourishing as summer rain

Every time Allah had a revelation an angel came, Jibraeel is his name

You must know this man who I’m trying to meet

He walks with this man called Abu Bakr As-Siddeeq

So named because he never questioned a word the Prophet speaks

Imagine he, feasts upon the light of Islam daily, how

Nourishingly sweet

Can’t you see? This is a great man I have to greet

I heard this blessed Prophet ascended up through the seven heavens

And was welcomed by all the Prophets from Isa to Adam

Alayhis salaam,

My mind can’t fathom the sights he beheld, Imagine

Seeing thousands upon thousands of angels, wings flattened

Prostrating to Allah without even a hand’s width between them

Picture seeing a

tree with multi-coloured sparkling lights

Reflecting the Nour of Allah that’s never ending, my hearts ascending but it seems like my quest is never ending

Seriously, have you seen him?

His name is Muhammad, sallAllahu alaihi wa sallam

I met this woman who had the opportunity to meet him

He placed his hand upon her withered goat, said Bismillah, then milk started overflowing

Feeding her first, then his companions

So if I give you her description of him, maybe you’ll know him

She said

His face was luminous like a full moon, his expression was serene

When he is quiet there is a strange dignity about him

When he speaks his words are like sprinkled pearls

His friends obey his every wish and listen to his every word

SallAllahu alaihi wa sallam

I even heard that if he touched a child a perfume could be smelt on them for days

A tree even wept when he went away

I heard a young boy cried when his sparrow died so the Prophet stayed all day and played with this young boy till his grief martyred away

Listen, all I want from you today is to show me the right way

So I can find a mosque to pray

To catch a glimpse of this man, you must know, his name is Muhammad

sallAllahu alaihi wa sallam

From Allah we come and to Him we must return

Ladies and gentlemen, brothers and sisters, thank you for listening

But it seems like I just missed him

Last night the beloved Prophet of Allah returned to Allah’s kingdom

That means on this earth I’ll never get the chance to meet him

Allah knows best, seems like I wasn’t meant to greet him

I travelled seven and a half years to get here

But I will endeavour to learn from his teachings

They say that if I look into the eyes of his Ummah I should be able to see him

So I’m seeking

People whose faces ignite whenever they speak of him

Do you know where I can find those blessed people who look after travelling pilgrims?

I’ve come so far and I’m not leaving

In fact I’m staying, right here in Medina to learn the ways of Rasulullah and learn the secrets of Allah

I wanna spend starlit nights praying

I wanna walk the ground he walked and pray in mosques that he taught

From this day, I vow to live my life this way

Writing down all I learn and any obstacles I face I’ll pray

And try to learn the Prophet Muhammad’s way

sallAllahu alaihi wa sallam

so that I can pass them down to future pilgrims down generations and generations and generations….

Leave a Reply

